Rafael Nadal retains his world No.1 spot in the latest ATP tennis rankings despite the defeat to Novak Djokovic in the World Tour Finals title at the O Arena in London on Monday night.

The Spaniard grabbed the top spot from Djokovic in October and will remain in that position after a remarkable season that included 75 wins and just seven defeats. During the course of the season he recorded a total of 10 tournament victories; three more than the Serb.

Djokovic recorded his third ATP World Tour title with a convincing 6-3 6-4 victory over Nadal on Monday and ended the season with an impressive 22 match unbeaten streak. He will now travel to Belgrade to take on the Czech Republic in the Davis Cup final. The victory was his third Championship victory over Nadal this year and he will be keen to wrestle the coveted World number one mantle away from the Spanish player.

Nadal did not perform his best in London but reflected that: “This is probably one of the best seasons of my career and playing this match in this stadium is just fantastic for me.” In respect of his rivalry with Djokovic he added: “We are in a special moment of the history of tennis.” This year will be the third season that Nadal has finished in the top ranking position, equalling his achievements of 2008 and 2010.

Former world number one Roger Federer has moved back up to No. 6 ahead of Tomas Berdych and ends the season in his lowest position for 11 years. The rest of the Top 10 rankings have remained the same.

With the ATP schedule complete, this weekend’s Davis Cup final will bring the season to a thrilling finale as Serbia take on the Czech Republic in Belgrade. Serbia beat Canada 3-2 at the Belgrade Arena to seal a place in this year’s final while the Czech Republic defeated Argentina in Prague to secure their place at the prestigious event.

South African Airways ATP Rankings (November 11th 2013)

1. Rafael Nadal
2. Novak Djokovic

3. David Ferrer
4. Andy Murray

5. Juan Martin Del Potro
6. Roger Federer

7. Tomas Berdych

8. Stanislas Wawrinka
9. Richard Gasquet
10. Jo-Wilfried Tsonga

11. Milos Raonic

12. Tommy Haas
13. Nicolas Almagro
14. John Isner
15. Mikhail Youzhny

16. Fabio Fognini
17. Kei Nishikori
18. Tommy Robredo
19. Gilles Simon
20. Kevin Anderson

Leave a Reply